Is Brown Rice Gluten-Free?
There are many reasons to like brown rice.
It is a very nutritious food, a whole grain, and high in fiber.
Likewise, when ground into a flour it can be used in making breads, pastas, and all sorts of baked goods.
Plus it is technically gluten-free which is one of the things that we look at when determining if a food is safe to eat.
However, this does not mean that it is a well-tolerated food.
There are two main reasons for this potential sensitivity.
First, is that it actually contains one of proteins, glutenin, that comprises gluten. It does not contain the other protein gliadin.
While, technically it is a gluten-free food, it is halfway there and quite close.
Second, the fiber in it is somewhat harsh and stressful for many of us with weakened digestive systems.
Thus, I strongly recommend that people just learning that they are gluten sensitive strongly consider it to be another potential stressor.
Can one be sensitive to brown rice and tolerate white rice?
In fact, I am and many people that I see in our wellness practice are sensitive to brown rice and yet tolerant white rice just fine.
I especially like white basmati and jasmine rices.
This sensitivity is not uncommon at all.
Of course, there are people who will tolerate brown rice and not white rice.
Nothing is etched in stone. We are all unique!
Of course we can only know which foods to avoid if we first detect our food sensitivities.
For those of us who are not only sensitive to gluten but also BR what can we do?
Obviously we must not only avoid eating it but also any product which contains the flour from this whole grain.
So it is essential that you read labels on all flour and gluten-free products. These products include:
Companies making BR-free and GF Products These companies may also make a few products which contain BR so always be sure to check labels.